Windows 7 God Mode

So I have been talking about this enough in my Windows 7 seminars and classess that I thought I should add a post about it.

Whenever I hear the term “God Mode” I think about video gaming and being able to do anything I wanted. When you talk about “God Mode” in Windows 7, this really allows Administrators to get to the tools they need in one location. It reminds me of the Administrator’s ability to use Internet Explorer 6.0 to run around in Admin Approval Mode to fix things on a comput er with out a lot of “Run As” commands.  All you need to do is:

  1. Create a new folder.
  2. Rename the folder with the following: “Desired Name”.{ED7BA470-8E54-465E-825C-99712043E01C} (do not include the quotes)
  3. Once the change has been made the icon should change to below:
God Mode Icon

Icon for God Mode Windows 7 and Vista

Upon opening the icon you are presented with Administrative Tools, Action Center, Control Panel options, etc.  Combine this with a “Run As” command for a very easy way for administrators to quickly get around on a Windows 7 or Windows Vista machine.  That’s right, this also works on Windows Vista.  Good luck and please leave a comment about what you have found out with this great tool!

God Mode Window
Windows 7 God Mode Explorer

I want to thank Brian Lockwood at  for first bringing God Mode to my attention.

Update 2/8/2010

I was recently poking around on Microsoft’s website and I came across why “God Mode” is even available.  This article talks more about what is it used for and I lists other “Junction Points” that are available to access other parts of the OS.  Pretty cool information.  Checkout this post from the Deployment Guys.

Leave a Reply

